blue bar white spacer
isgrg logo
   Fellowships & Prizes
   GR news
   Conferences list
   Job Opportunities
   Membership & Dues
   Related Organizations
   Members Area

The IUPAP General Relativity and Gravitation Young Scientist Prize

As an affiliated commission (AC2) of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP), the International Society on General Relativity and Gravitation (ISGRG) offers an annual IUPAP Young Scientist Prize. The IUPAP Young Scientist Prizes recognize outstanding achievements of scientists at early stages of their career. Each prize consists of a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient, a medal and 1000 euros.

The conditions for the prize are:

The IUPAP General Relativity and Gravitation Young Scientist Prize can be for work in any area of relativity and gravitation, theoretical or experimental.

On 1 February 2018, nominees must have a maximum of eight years of research experience (excluding career interruptions) following the Ph.D. (or equivalent) degree. They are expected to have displayed significant achievement and exceptional promise for future achievements in relativity and gravitation.

The primary nominator must be a member of the International Society on General Relativity and Gravitation.

Nominations may be made by any member of ISGRG (other than the nominee) and should be accompanied by a CV, a proposed citation of 30-50 words summarizing the reason for the nomination, a list of publications and a description (about one page long) of the specific achievements of the nominee, who need not be an ISGRG member.

It is important that the selection committee has specific information that allows it to determine what the nominee has contributed and how this will impact the subject. Therefore it will be extremely helpful to the selection committee to receive at least two additional letters supporting the nomination that detail the expected significance of the contributions of the nominee.

It is also appropriate to submit additional materials such as published articles. In the case of co-authored or multi-authored publications, it is essential for nominators and supporters to discuss the nominee's precise contributions, if known, in addition to the work's overall significance.

The entire package should be bundled into a single PDF file and emailed to the Secretary of ISGRG,, by 1 February 2018. The winner will be announced on 14 March 2018 and the award made shortly thereafter. The official presentation of the award will be made at the GR22 conference in 2019.

Through the generosity of Prof. Abhay Ashtekar (Penn State U), an Ashtekar Travel Award of $1000 will be presented to the winner as partial support for travel to GR22.

IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in General Relativity and Gravitation Recipients

2013, Lisa Barsotti , Massachusetts Institute of Technology, "For her numerous contributions to the development of gravitational wave detectors, especially for leading the demonstration of the utility of squeezed light in improving gravitational wave detector performance."

2014, Jorge E. Santos, Stanford University and Cambridge University, "For finding the first example of a classical gravitational instability of an asymptotically flat vacuum higher-dimensional black hole solution; for using numerical methods to construct novel anti-de Sitter black hole solutions and using these to explore the connections between gravitational systems and inhomogeneous strongly coupled condensed matter systems."

2015, Nicolas Yunes, Montana State University, "For his wide-ranging and important contributions to the field of gravitational wave astrophysics"

2016, Ivan Agullo, Louisiana State University, "For his outstanding contributions to the physics of the early universe and possible observational consequences of quantum gravity."

2017, Aron C. Wall, Institute for Advanced Studies, "For his fundamental contributions to our understanding of gravitational entropy and the generalized second law of thermodynamics."

In case of problems, contact: