blue bar white spacer
isgrg logo
   Fellowships & Prizes
   GR news
   Conferences list
   Job Opportunities
   Membership & Dues
   Related Organizations
   Members Area

The Jürgen Ehlers Thesis Prize

Prof. Jürgen Ehlers
Prof. Jürgen Ehlers


In 2008, the Society instituted a Thesis Prize in memory of Professor Jürgen Ehlers (1929-2008), a distinguished relativist and a past President of the Society. Professor Ehlers made seminal contributions to foundations of general relativity, many of its mathematical aspects and cosmology. He was the founding director of the Albert Einstein Institute of the Max Planck Society of Germany and won the Max Planck Medal, the highest honor bestowed by the German Physical Society.

This prize is sponsored by Springer in honor of Professor Ehlers, who had a long and fruitful relationship with the publisher as one of the Founding Editors of the book series Lecture Notes in Physics and as author of several books. It will be given during the tri-annual international conferences of the Society for the best Ph.D. thesis in the areas of mathematical and numerical general relativity. The recipient will receive a cheque for US $ 1500 and a certificate.

The governance for this prize can be found here.

Ehlers Prize Recipients

2010, Nicholas Yunes , Thesis institution: Pennsylvania State University

2013, Aseem Paranjape , Thesis institution: Tata Institute

In case of problems, contact: